News: Real Lies

Stars release From Capelton Hill Deluxe

Stars release From Capelton Hill Deluxe
From Capelton Hill Deluxe features an all-star cast of remixers, including Benjamin GibbardYumi Zoumailluminati hottiesReal Lies and Joseph Shabason.

Read more

Stars announce From Capelton Hill Deluxe + illuminati hotties Remix

Stars announce From Capelton Hill Deluxe + illuminati hotties Remix

Montreal’s Stars today announced From Capelton Hill Deluxe, the expanded edition of the band’s most recent album, will be released April 21st, 2023. The news is accompanied by the release of “Pretenders (illuminati hotties Remix),” a hyper-speed reinterpretation by Sarah Tudzin that takes the romantic original to new heights.

The illuminati hotties remix follows last month’s drop of Benjamin Gibbard’s (Death Cab For Cutie) nuanced, sinuous take on “Snowy Owl,” and both make up the 17-track expansion, in addition to forthcoming remixes by Yumi Zouma, Real Lies and Joseph Shabason. 

These aren't just a bunch of remixes, they're a bunch of remixes by people who have made some of our absolute favorite music,” the band explains of the new LP. “Some of them we've been friends with for decades, some we have never even met, but no matter whether they are old friends or new, their music has been incredibly inspiring to us. We're honored that they took the time to re-approach these songs of ours.”

Stars will embark on their North American 'Hoping For Spring'  tour in April, including select rescheduled U.S. shows from 2022–a full itinerary is listed below.

From Capelton Hill was released last May via Last Gang Records / MNRK to acclaim from MOJO (4/5), Exclaim! (8/10), Brooklyn Vegan (“few bands that were with us at the dawn of the millennium continue to sound this vital”), NEXT, Under The Radar, Music OHM (4/5), Record Collector (4/5) and CBC 'q', among others.

From Capelton Hill Deluxe LP Tracklist:

  1. Palmistry
  2. Pretenders
  3. Patterns
  4. Back To The End
  5. That Girl
  6. Build a Fire
  7. Capelton Hill
  8. Hoping
  9. To Feel What They Feel
  10. If I Never See London Again
  11. I Need The Light
  12. Snowy Owl
  13. Snowy Owl (Benjamin Gibbard Remix)
  14. Pretenders (illuminati hotties Remix)
  15. Back To The End (Yumi Zouma Remix)
  16. Build A Fire (Real Lies Remix)
  17. If I Never See London Again (Joseph Shabason Remix)

Stars 2023 Tour Dates:
04/07 - Creemore, ON - Avening Community Hall
04/08 - Creemore, ON - Avening Community Hall
04/09 - Paris, ON - Paris Presbyterian Church
04/10 - Hamilton, ON - Bridgeworks
04/12 - Ferndale, MI - The Magic Bag
04/13 - Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
04/14 - Milwaukee, WI - Shank Hall
04/15 - Minneapolis, MN - Fine Line Music Café
04/18 - Dallas, TX - Cambridge Room
04/19 - Austin, TX - 3Ten Austin City


Read more